What to See & When

Here you can find information on;

  • Today's weather forecast for Guernsey
  • Monthly highlights with Sky Charts to help you visualise what celestial bodies are visible
  • Yearly information on the sun, moon, planets and meteors
  • A glossary of astronomical terms used in the various pages

Sky Charts generated by Sky Safari, Simulation Curriculum Corp.

ISS Sighting Opportunites

Retrieved from: NASA Spot the Station on Saturday 16th January 2021
The following ISS sightings are possible from Monday 18th January 2021 through to Friday 29th January 2021
DATE VISIBLE MAX HEIGHT* APPEARS DISAPPEARS
Mon 18 Jan @ 19:15 < 1 min 11° 10° above SSW 11° above SSW
Tue 19 Jan @ 18:28 2 min 16° 10° above S 16° above SSE
Wed 20 Jan @ 17:42 2 min 11° 10° above SSE 10° above ESE
Wed 20 Jan @ 19:16 2 min 26° 10° above SW 26° above SW
Thu 21 Jan @ 18:28 4 min 36° 10° above SW 33° above ESE
Fri 22 Jan @ 17:41 5 min 25° 10° above SSW 12° above E
Fri 22 Jan @ 19:19 1 min 42° 22° above WSW 42° above WSW
Sat 23 Jan @ 18:32 2 min 73° 27° above WSW 52° above E
Sun 24 Jan @ 17:44 4 min 53° 26° above SW 14° above ENE
Sun 24 Jan @ 19:21 1 min 39° 21° above W 39° above WNW
Mon 25 Jan @ 18:34 2 min 70° 33° above W 41° above ENE
Tue 26 Jan @ 17:47 4 min 85° 42° above WSW 12° above ENE
Tue 26 Jan @ 19:23 1 min 38° 18° above WNW 38° above NW
Wed 27 Jan @ 18:36 3 min 57° 26° above WNW 38° above ENE
Thu 28 Jan @ 17:49 4 min 61° 32° above WNW 12° above ENE
Thu 28 Jan @ 19:25 1 min 33° 18° above WNW 33° above WNW
Fri 29 Jan @ 18:38 3 min 61° 21° above WNW 39° above ENE
* Flyovers that will reach a Max Height of at least 40°, provide the best chance for a sighting opportunity because they are visible above most landscapes and buildings.